Hello there friends, supporters and all those following the campaign! So Day 6 had a bit of drama. Basically, woke up early at around 8am. Very keen to see how the bottles of milk were this morning. After a shower, I went into the kitchen to check on the bottles I had defrosted the night before. Very nervous at this stage because of what happened to the milk the night before. Took 3 bottles for breakfast (1 and a half litres). The first bottle was good....there was no 'grainy' or 'lumpy' consistency with this one thankfully. However, the next two bottles of milk I opened were awful - smelled different, tasted different and had larger particles in it. I had no choice but to try and drink it because one bottle is simply not enough for me in the morning. I poured it into a glass and tried to down it in one. That was a bad idea - I basically threw it back up into the sink!! Absolutely disgusting. Both bottles seemed to be gone off. 

I immediately contacted my friends in California and Kenya on Skype who have done the fast for 10 days and more! From describing the milk to them, they told me that "It's just susa!". I hadn't a clue what that was? Upon further explanation, I understood that 'susa' is a Somali term for camel milk that is fermented and sour. Apparently, according to the guys, it is 'difficult to drink', 'an acquired taste' and 'possibly even better for you than normal milk'. One of the guys explained to me that during the freezing process, the proteins expand and pop and thus give the 'extra grainy', lumpy consistency!! Kind of reassuring but still doesn't get away from the fact that it is very difficult to drink. For me, I simply couldn't stomach the lumpy parts and I kept throwing them up!! Nightmare.


Myself and Joe (filmmaker) decided to go into town to buy a sieve to see could I filter out the lumps. Headed into town, fairly hungry at this stage, and bought the sieve. Went to meet friends in Shoreditch at Boxpark after that. Chilled there in the sun there and tried out the sieve with the bottles I had brought with me! The sieve did the trick. It was absolutely clogged up with fermented milk at the end of pouring a bottle through it. Disgusting.


Anyway, managed to get two bottles into me (1 litre) using the sieve thankfully. At this stage, I only had (1 and a half litres) and it was 5pm. Usually, at this stage, I'd have 3 & a half litres in me. I was surviving anyway...... Got back home at 6pm and used the sieve again to down another 3 bottles. At this stage, I was wrenching at the sight of the the bottles of milk. This really annoyed me because I was beginning to like the milk by Thursday, despite my mood swings. Anyway, I'm very determined to finish this campaign for Brain Tumour Ireland so I just drank the lumpy milk! When you think of all the people affected by the disease and all they go through, this is a piece of cake.....


So a friend of mine was over from Ireland and she was staying in my house tonight. However, she was out on the tear in London and I had to stay in! Nothing worse when friends are over from Ireland and you have to stay in! I went into central London with her, dropped her into her friends and just headed home - on my own..... When I got home, I had another bottle of sieved camel milk and went to bed! Not a bad day but just really disappointed with these bottles of milk, especially since I was coming to like the stuff. 

Anyway, this weekend has been difficult with the milk as it's not tasting nice, I've had to sieve lumps out of it, it has made me wrench a few times and I've been hungry because I've cut down on the amount I'm drinking. Please guys, you've been awesome to date, but if you haven't donated please do! You can do it here!



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Here you will find a dump of all my thoughts and feelings throughout the whole Camel Milk Me campaign. 

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All