Hi there eveyone!! How are you all doing? So I'm writing what could be my last blog of this whole campaign for Brain Tumour Ireland. A campaign that all started last year in July / August time when I was on the look out to do something completely different for Brain Tumour Ireland and came across this TEDx video. I managed to get in touch with Sebastian and his team of camel milk lovers, made great friends with them and decided to embark on what would surely be one of the most novel and outrageous campaigns that people in this part of the world have ever seen! You see, that was my plan all along. I wanted to do something completely off the wall, think outside the box, and deliver much needed funds and awareness for a charity that a very good friend of mine, Simon, and his family had set up. 

Simon lost his Mum to a brain tumour in early 2012. I clearly remember meeting Simon around Christmas 2011 over (a few too many!) drinks. We talked very briefly about his Mum and how she was getting on. It was obvious to me the suffering and pain that he, his family and most importantly his Mum, Ronnie, was going through. I suppose I've never really forgotten that time. It certainly brought back a few of my own personal memories.......

From the moment I heard that Simon and his family had set up the charity, I made a promise to myself that I would do something to help this fantastic charity. I knew I had to do something outrageous to grab people's attention and get people talking about this newly established charity.

And so, here I am, reflecting on a week long challenge where I drank and ate nothing, but nothing, but camel milk......

Day 7 started off badly, woke up absolutely starving - worse than ever before because of the lower amount of camel milk I drank on Day 6. I had taken three bottles out for breakfast the night before. Now at this stage friends, I was wrenching at the sight of the camel milk because of the sour, 'susa' milk from the previous two days. The first bottle I drank was actually good, surprisingly. However, the next two were awful. Even after sieving out all the grainy bits and lumps, I simply couldn't keep the stuff down. It was now becoming a mental thing. I tried to drink the remaining two bottles but simply kept throwing them back up!! Nightmare. So with only half a litre in me for breakfast, I just got on with the day. My final day!! 

Joe (filmmaker) called over around 12pm. Around the corner from my apartment, there is an internet cafe where I do most of my printing. It's run by two guys from Somalia - absolutely legends and I would always be having the banter with them when I go in! Anyway, in Somalia the camel is a God - they absolutely revere the the camel and they go mad for a bit of camel milk. I told them a few weeks ago that I was doing this but they simply laughed and didn't believe me. "You can't get camel milk in London my friend, and that makes us sad" , they used to say to me. So as a big surprise, I brought down two bottles of milk to the boys!! When I arrived in and showed them the milk they were delighted!! You'd swear I had just given them a bullion of gold!! They said, "we'll have a party tonight!!". Great guys and was so happy I got to give them a few bottles. I'll probably give them my left overs as well! After the boys telling us all about camels in Somalia and what not, we left to head for the big shopp in Sainsburys!!

Arrived into Sainsburys and I went absolutely nuts! Bought everything in sight. Pizza, crisps, biscuits  fruit, water, cheese, loads of veg - the lot. No expense spared!! I was starved at this stage so I got out of there quickly before I burned my wallet!! Pizza, salt & vinegar crisps and water for the midnight feast!! Sorted.....

After that I came home, unloaded the food and went for another two bottles. Again I had to sieve this as it was very lumpy. I managed to keep these bottles down and got them into me. Only just... Off I went then again into town to meet a friend and watch the London Marathon. Watching the marathon was absolutely awesome. Everyone was out supporting all the runners and the fantastic charities they were running for. Really made me feel great about my current campaign for Brain Tumour Ireland. It was actually the first time the whole campaign had really sunk in and the difference I was making to the charity. Proud - definitely. Anyway, after that emotional moment, I went off to play squash.....

Now, with only three bottles in me, and already feeling weak, this was probably a moment of madness! But I had one bottle left and in an attempt to not let the camel milk get in the way of my normal routine, I was determined to play. And win!! As it turned out, we drew and I felt terrible coming back home on train. Not a good idea to play squash on an empty stomach. Idiot!

Anyway, got home and drank another sour milk bottle and again managed to keep it down. Success. That would prove to be the last one though!! I sat on the couch until Joe came over and we filmed the clock strike 12am and me tearing into my midnight feast. Eating, chewing, drinking water!! Just the weirdest feeling ever!!

But that was it done!! 7 days of nothing, but nothing, but camel milk. Much needed awareness raised for Brain Tumour Ireland. €3,915 fundraised for the charity. DONE!

I'll tell you one thing though. I am so fortunate to have the best family, extended family and the most awesome friends that anyone could ever wish to have. I'm not going to go off on a rant here but people's support, generosity and kindness has simply blown me away!! No words can do justice to it. None. Nothing but love people. Peace........
3/2/2016 03:02:19 am

Hope you had a successful campaign for brain tumor. Even I have done a fundraising campaign with my friends by selling wristbands. It was awesome. Well written. Keep sharing

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Here you will find a dump of all my thoughts and feelings throughout the whole Camel Milk Me campaign. 

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All