So with just over four days to go to my camel milk fast, the nerves have well and truly kicked in.  There is a lot going through my head - will I last the seven days, will I lose much weight (can't afford to do that), will my concentration levels be affected, will I be able to keep working, will I constantly feel weak? 

I suppose this is not helped by the fact that people are telling me all sorts of things including; "You're going to stink of a camel dairy" (I hope not!), "You'll never make seven days without food!",  "You're going to lose a huge amount of weight", "You wont be able to concentrate", etc. Up until now, I've simply blocked all that out, but at this stage, this is starting to creep into my head. 

In an effort to build motivation and determination to succeed in the challenge, I have done a lot of research into brain tumours and the suffering that victims of the disease and their families go through. When you really begin to understand how people with brain tumours suffer, it makes what I'm doing seem like a breeze. It will be very important to keep this in mind throughout the week when my body starts to yearn for food and water. 

One source of apprehension was the fact that I hadn't tried camel milk until Monday of this week - just 7 days before my challenge!! However, having tasted it for the first time, that is no longer a concern. To be perfectly honest, I was very worried before tasting it - I had thoughts it was going to stink of camel (not that I've ever smelled a camel!) - and taste even worse. To my relief, it actually didn't taste all that bad and there wasn't much of a smell off it. I'm not saying that it is tasty or anything, because in truth, it simply isn't! But, it's graaaaannnnddd.......

The final trailer was just shot last week in the Porterhouse in Covent Garden. Few friends from work came along and together with Joe, the filmmaker, we shot what should be an excellent third and final trailer (Keep an eye out for it in the coming days). Big thanks to all the staff at the Porterhouse who were really helpful and allowed us to shoot there! 

Finally, the fundraising for the first two weeks has gone well. I've raised over $1,500 so far which is awesome - people are genuinely so nice when it comes to raising money for deserving charities! I must admit, my target of €3,500 is still massively ambitious! Whatever about the taste of the milk or lasting the seven days.....not reaching my target is now my single biggest worry. It would be devastating if I couldn't reach it. Hopefully, when people see what I'm going through and understand all that Brain Tumour Ireland stands for, they will give up a few quid to the cause! Fingers crossed for me!! If you feel you would like to donate, please do by clicking here! It would mean a huge amount to me, and most importantly, Brain Tumour Ireland. Thanks in advance!
9/19/2013 08:38:57 pm

A simple way of fundraiser for your needs

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Here you will find a dump of all my thoughts and feelings throughout the whole Camel Milk Me campaign. 

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All