The Doctor's Appointment.........

So I book myself in to see the doctor this week. To be perfectly honest, I didn't really see the need to get the opinion of a doctor anyway because I felt I would know more than her about Camel Milk. Added to that, from talking to people who have done the fast, I know that I won't die or anything like that (hopefully!)...... 

However, as people were in full flow with all the scare mongering - as if they were all some kind of camel milk expert - telling me I would lose weight, I couldn't survive, etc, etc, I decided to get the opinion of a doctor. Well, what a complete waste of my time and money that was!! 

The doctor, as nice as she was, simply started to Google camel milk and it's benefits!! I was thinking to myself, "What am I doing here - I could teach her about all of this...she should be paying me!!"  Anyway, we did have a good chat about it. She basically said that it's not dangerous, I won't lose much weight and that my concentration levels will be fine. 

HOWEVER! She did say that because there is not much calories in Camel Milk, I will be very hungry for the week. Added to that, she said it would be extremely difficult, mentally, to overcome my body yearning for food constantly. Now that was worrying to be honest....

The best thing about the doctor was that she thought my idea was awesome and that while I'm doing the fast, the one thing I should do to get me through the challenge is to think of the hunger strikers in Northern Ireland and how they lasted for so long without water. I thought that was kind of cool initially, you know, coming from an Aussie doctor and all. Looking back on it now though, and considering the week that was in it (Thatcher's death), and the way the hunger strikers ultimately died, her source of motivation seemed, well, for want of a better word - weird?

THE WEEKEND BEFORE

So in my final 2/3 days before the challenge, I have been trying to fatten up. On Friday night, a very good friend of mine came over from Ireland and about 7 of us all went out together for an amazing seafood meal at Oxford Circus. It just made me realise how much I absolutely LOVE FOOD and how central it is to nearly everything I do. I had a 'moment' at the table where I was basically like - NOOOOOO - what have I gotten myself into?! That was scary. However, the best thing to do when those thoughts come into my head is to block it out and pretend like it's not an issue at all. Easier said that done.....

Saturday I had to fly back to Ireland for the day and was quite busy so I wasn't really thinking about the fast, which, as I now know, is a good thing!! 

This morning, a great friend of mine (who's over visiting from the States) cooked me an awesome Mexican breakfast - scrambled egg, chorizo, halloumi and guacamole. Unbelievable scenes in the kitchen this morning. What a treat before my week of hunger.

This afternoon, I'm going out for a big Sunday roast with friends - as a kind of 'last supper' thing!! This will be my last meal for one week!! I better enjoy it I suppose! 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Here you will find a dump of all my thoughts and feelings throughout the whole Camel Milk Me campaign. 

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All